Spine Surgery

The goal of spine surgery is to stabilise the vertebral bones and spinal joints and/or relieve pressure being applied to the spinal nerves, which often results from conditions such as spinal instability, bone spurs, herniated discs, scoliosis or spinal tumours.

Cervical Spine

The cervical spine (neck region) consists of seven vertebrae (C1-C7).

Thoracic Spine

The thoracic spine (upper back) consists of 12 vertebrae (T1 to T12).

Lumbar Spine

The lumbar spine (lower back) consists of five vertebrae (L1 to L5).

Sacrum & Coccyx

The sacrum consists of five fused vertebrae (S1 to S5) and the coccyx (tailbone) consists of four fused vertebrae (Co1 to Co4).

Peripheral Nervous System

A peripheral nerve injury refers to damage or disruption of the nerves that extend from the spinal cord and brain to the rest of the body, outside of the central nervous system.

Peripheral Nerve Injuries

Peripheral nerves can be injured in a number of ways, such as trauma, compression, disease, or inflammation.

Sports Injuries

Ut enim ad minim veniam, quis nostrud exercitation ullamco laboris nisi ut aliquip ex ea commodo consequat.

Sport Injuries

Rugby union, rugby league, AFL, martial arts and other contact injuries that result in brain, nerve and spine damage.

Surgical Approaches

Minimally Invasive Spine (MIS) surgery is a type of surgery on the bones of your spinal column. This type of surgery uses smaller incisions than standard “open” surgery, which offers many benefits.

Minimally Invasive Surgery

Keyhole surgery using a tubular retractor and microscope to access the surgical site.

Endoscopic Surgery

Ultra-minimally invasive surgery using endoscopic instruments and high definition visualisation.

Have a question about your condition or wish to book an appointment?

Please get in touch with our reception team if you have a general enquiry for Dr Parkinson, or your would like to book an appointment.